Skip to Navigation
    Western Michigan University
   
 
  Sep 25, 2017
 
 
    
Undergraduate Catalog 2017-18

Art Education Major - Bachelor of Fine Arts (84 hours)


Return to Departments and Programs Return to: Departments and Programs

Procedures for Admission to Art Education Major

Students who wish to declare an Art Education major are required to apply before registering for any art education courses (ART 3520, ART 4520, ART 5520). Application includes a portfolio review, letter of intent, and advising checks. More complete information is available in the Art Advising Office.

Program Requirements


This program is intended to develop artists trained in various forms of civic engagement, and educational theory and methods. Students who intend to gain K-12 teacher certification must also complete the requirements of the secondary education curriculum of the College of Education and Human Development. Eighty-four credit hours in professional studies satisfy the comprehensive major/minor of this curriculum, and are distributed as follows:

Professional Program


Basic Studies Requirement (12 hours)


Baccalaureate-Level Writing Requirement (3 hours)


Studio Art Distribution Requirement (21 hours)


And either:


And either:


Studio Art Concentration Requirement (9 hours)


Intermediate and advanced level coursework (3000-5000 level) in one of the following areas:

Studio Areas:

  • Ceramics
  • Metals/Jewelry
  • Painting
  • Photography and Intermedia
  • Printmedia
  • Sculpture

Art History Requirement (12 hours)


And one elective in non-Western art history:


And one elective in contemporary art history:


Or

Other art history elective that meets the Michigan Department of Education/Standards for teacher preparation requiring a course in contemporary art history, upon approval of art education area coordinator.

Professional Concentration:


See the Education Advisor, 2504 Sangren, for information concerning mandatory Michigan tests.

Art Education Requirement (18 hours)


Teacher Education Requirement (9 hours)


Teacher Certification Requirement (24 hours)


First Semester (12 hours)


Second Semester (12 hours)


Grading Requirement


Art majors and minors receiving a grade below a “C” in a required course must repeat the course.

Return to Departments and Programs Return to: Departments and Programs